Skip to content

Connections

afternoon shadows

iPhone, vsco cam edits, Washington, DC

I’ve been trying to maintain touch with old friends through email, snail mail, and phone recently. These are the friends that don’t live nearby or even a few hours drive away. But in other states or countries all together.

You would think that in this day and age with all the technology we have at our fingertips we’d be hearing more from each other. But we don’t.

We each get caught up in our day to day lives, going from work to home, to taking care of whatever or whomever needs to be taken care of. Life is understandably busy.

So we lose touch with those we made connections with so many years ago, who we considered to be close friends.

It’s a little disheartening because the older we get, the harder it is to make close friends. It becomes difficult to meet people since we see the same ones on a daily basis (usually coworkers). We get more set in our ways, and focused on what needs to get done that day.

I sometimes wonder if Matt and I left the area we live in now and moved to another state, would we remain close with the friends we have now? Or would they too slowly drift away and become just like so many, distant memories?

There are just about a handful who have, however, remained close. About three from my childhood days in Saudi Arabia and two from grad school.

I might not see them often or always talk to them, but they write or text back when I reach out to them. It’s a bond that can’t be broken quite as easily as others, which gives me some semblance of hope.

Because at the end of the day, what do we have in this life if we don’t have one another?

“We’re born alone, we live alone, we die alone. Only through our love and friendship can we create the illusion for the moment that we’re not alone.” – Orson Welles

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. San #

    OMG, so true. I am just experiencing this FIRST HAND with a childhood friend visiting CA…. we sometimes go month without talking, but it’s so easy to reconnect and pick up where we left off… I wish she lived closer.

    December 2, 2015
    • Marie #

      Ahhh yes! I have those friends too! 🙂

      December 3, 2015
  2. I’ve lost touch with people 15 minutes away. I’m a terrible IRL friend. But I’m not really sad about it. Is that weird?

    December 2, 2015
    • Marie #

      No it doesn’t! And not weird at all.

      December 3, 2015
  3. I feel these feels too. Like you say, in theory, technology should make it easier for us to keep in touch. But it’s so easy to glance at your inbox, see your unread messages and go back to flicking through Instagram. And for that matter, it’s easy to feel like you’ve “caught up” with someone by going through their Facebook/Instagram feed.

    There are a few friends I have in London who, despite me moving thousands of miles away, I have a great connection with. One I feel like will last long into little old ladyhood. But I definitely feel like I’ve drifted from other friends I’ve left behind.

    December 3, 2015
    • Marie #

      Exactly!! I think people have felt this more so when Facebook came out, because as you mention, you can just go to their page and see what their updates are. A good majority of my friends are still on FB, but I’m not anymore so in a way I’ve lost that connection (but trust me, I will not go back to it). I miss that person to person connection/link though. Like even writing a letter or email.

      At least we do still have those friends that no matter where we are in the world, when we do see them, we are picking up right where we left off.

      December 4, 2015
      • I’m the same as you FB too. It just feels so impersonal. And this might be irrational of me, but I get a little irked when friends merely ‘like’ something. Why I stopped using it.

        Having those friends who we can pick up after whatever amount of time are so important. They’re the keepers!

        December 4, 2015
        • Marie #

          Right?? That’s exactly it!

          December 4, 2015

Leave a Reply

