Skip to content

Home you say?

DC fall

iPhone, vsco cam edits, Washington DC

I’ve been thinking a lot about our condo (which actually doesn’t look like like a condo, but more like a small townhouse connected to other townhouses) that we own. Do we want to eventually sell it? Possibly move to another state? Try something new? Or keep it and continue living where we are now? Possibly rent it out later in the future where it would eventually be an additional income for us?

That’s how I think of the place we own. Not so much a warm, fuzzy home, but more of a financial investment that I’m hoping will one day pay itself off and then some. Sounds sort of cold and crass doesn’t it?

I can’t really help myself. I’ve never been attached to a physical home. Growing up, we moved around so much – even when we lived in the same city – that I never thought of a house as “home.” Instead, my home was (still is) my parents. They were and still are my constant.

In the US the same has happened. Boston was the first city I lived in and I’ve considered a sort of home, but I wasn’t born there and only lived there for three years. I did make many happy memories there and still have a bunch of friends who live there. It will always have a special place in my heart (Virginia, not so much).

After meeting Matt, dating, getting married, and well being together for a total of about eight years now, he has become part of that home feeling. Wherever he is, that’s where home is. We could be on the other side of the US, walking around Seattle (I really hope one day) and I’d feel at home because he’s with me.

I know many others relate home to be a physical place or city or country, but I’ve never been attached in that sort of way. It’s those closest to me – my parents and Matt – that are my home. Wherever they are, that’s home to me.

Where is your home? What do you consider home to be?

 

 

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. I guess I consider our townhouse to be home but that doesn’t mean I couldn’t up and leave. Maybe it’s Chicagoland in general because both of our families are here for the most part. Wherever Katie and Nathan are is fine by me.

    December 9, 2015
    • Marie #

      So it’s definitely more so the people in your life who are closest to you. My guess is that’s the case for many.

      December 9, 2015
  2. This post resonates with me so much, and it’s a topic I find myself thinking about a lot recently!

    I was born in the UK, moved 3 times within the same tiny zip code, for 30 years. But after my BF decided to take a job in Bahrain and we were in an LDR, home started to feel a lot less like home. It’s amazing how much the bonds we make with people make a place feel like home. Now that we’re in Bahrain, living in rented accommodation with a feeling of impermanence, I feel more at home now than I have done in a long time.

    December 11, 2015
    • Marie #

      It’s all about the people in our lives!

      December 11, 2015
  3. San #

    I do have a house/town to call home (because I grew up and lived in the same town growing up!) and my parents’ house is definitely what I consider ‘home’, but I definitely KNOW what you mean… it is all about the people! ❤

    December 11, 2015
    • Marie #

      It is all about the people! I’ve always wondered what it’s like to have grown up in one home/town.

      December 14, 2015

Leave a Reply

