Skip to content

Safety First

morning metro

iPhone, vsco cam edits, Metro Washington, DC

I had a small, holiday party event last night that I was photographing in DC for the yoga studio where I take a lot of their website photos and teacher portraits. I figured I’d ride into DC via metro because driving and parking in the District can be a major pain in the butt.

Matt dropped me off at the metro station and I waited impatiently for the train to arrive. Once it did, I got on and noticed the car I was on was mostly empty except for two young men on it (could have been teenagers maybe?). I had a slight gut feeling that maybe I should go to another car where there was a woman, but instead I shrugged the feeling off and sat down.

Not 30 seconds later I hear a knock on the window and look up to see it’s the train driver (when they get to the end of a line, the drivers switch out). He motioned me to get off the train, which I did because I thought maybe this train was not going to be running.

But turns out that wasn’t the case.

He told me that I should switch cars on the train because I was the only female on the car I was on and that there were two young men on it. For my safety he said, I should get on a car where there is at least one other female. “I would tell my own daughter or wife the same thing,” he added.

I found another car on the train where a female was sitting and thanked him for being so kind and caring.

I guess next time I should listen to my gut feeling.

11 Comments Post a comment
  1. That’s so interesting! I’m surprised (good surprised) that the conductor intervened like that.

    December 14, 2015
    • Marie #

      Right? I was pretty surprised too!

      December 15, 2015
  2. That’s pretty incredible of him. I wish you’d gotten his name so you could send in a note of thanks to the Metro.

    December 14, 2015
    • Marie #

      It really was. I wish I had too, but it didn’t cross my mind at the time unfortunately.

      December 15, 2015
  3. San #

    That is so nice that he ‘warned’ you and asked you to be safe… although it’s also kind of sad that we know must assume that being in the same car on a train with two young men is dangerous 😦

    December 15, 2015
    • Marie #

      It really was! But yeah, it is quite sad that women do always have to be vigilant about their surroundings.

      December 16, 2015
  4. It’s great that he took the time to come to you and tell you to change cars, but it’s sort of a sad state of affairs that a woman can’t travel in a train car on her own at night for fear that a couple of guys sitting in it too might do something.

    December 16, 2015
    • Marie #

      Yup it really is, but better to be safe than sorry. So glad he was kind enough to tell me that.

      December 16, 2015
      • Definitely. And it’s actually good that there’s people out there looking out for other people. That alone can be a deterrent for people with “ideas”.

        December 16, 2015
  5. That WAS nice of him!

    December 30, 2015
    • Marie #

      Right??

      December 31, 2015

Leave a Reply

