Skip to content

Safely Sharing Photos

suburbia

iPhone, vsco cam edits, little toy car

I have a couple of friends who are all going to be having little ones this year (which is pretty exciting) and can’t wait to meet the new addition to their families.

Back in our day when we popped out of the womb, we were welcomed with flashes from film cameras. Fast forward to today and parents are posting pictures of their kids everywhere – websites, Instagram, Facebook, you name it.

Since this is quite the personal choice, some of my friends are already thinking about how they’ll want to share photos of their little ones, and they are opting on the side of caution. Essentially they want to share pictures with family and friends, but they don’t want pictures of their kid posted everywhere online.

I’ve been trying to find options for them that are either free or of low cost and include:

  • Dropbox
  • Shutterfly
  • Google Photos
  • Instagram (make account private)

Granted, these are not the best and most secure, but if you want to be a little more secure, you can pay for a service such as SmugMug (which I use for clients and I love it).

So I come to you, my 1-2 readers, are there any other safe and secure online services you know of to share photos of kids (and no not Facebook)? Any information would be of help!

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. Flickr is always an option. Then you can share links to the photos.

    January 4, 2016
    • Marie #

      I can’t recall, but is it possible to create private albums on there? Or anyone with a link can see it?

      January 5, 2016
  2. I’m a fan of Google Photos. Creating albums and only allowing a certain few people to view the photos. Or sharing the link to albums to certain people too. But then the link can be passed around. The new shared albums on Google Photos is pretty cool too. TBH I’m just a fan of Google Photos full stop.

    January 5, 2016
    • Marie #

      Ha! You’re like a friend of mine who is a big fan as well! I think I personally get turned off from Google Photos only because I know how much information they collect on us (as do so many others) so I don’t want to give them that extra pleasure of also collecting my photos (but that’s just my personal choice).

      What I like about sites such as SmugMug is that you can create an album with a link but make it password protected. Is it possible to do that with Google too?

      January 5, 2016
      • Totally understand. On the one hand it’s awful how much Google knows about me, but on the other hand I find it so useful that it does know so much!

        Don’t think there’s password protection but you can only allow certain email addresses to view an album.

        True story – couple of times used Google’s Timeline feature to figure out where I was on a certain day/time to avoid arguments and confusion.

        January 5, 2016
        • Marie #

          That’s actually helpful that you can allow only certain email addresses to view the album. Didn’t know you could do that.

          Ha! I’ve actually used my smartphone calendar app to do the same!

          January 6, 2016
  3. I have a friend who shares photos of her new baby via a shared iCloud album. It just pops up on my iPhone whenever they add a new photo. People can comment, like, etc.

    January 8, 2016
    • Marie #

      A friend of mine did the same with me! That was pretty cool. I imagine though you would need to buy more iCloud storage since they only allow a certain amount. Or they could delete the old and replace with new photos. Unfortunately not all of my friends have iPhones (many use Androids) so I don’t know if that would work for some.

      January 11, 2016
  4. I was going to say flickr as well – and yup you can set privacy on an individual photo or an album basis. You can either privately share out the link to people, or if the people you’re sharing with also have flickr accounts, you can set up groups and share just within that group, etc.

    January 11, 2016
    • Marie #

      Ahhhh ok! I remember being able to share individual pictures, but couldn’t recall if it can be done with albums. Thanks lady!

      January 12, 2016

Leave a Reply

