Skip to content

Isn’t it a wonder

There are several free museums in the DC metro area that, as locals, we sometimes fail to take advantage of. It wasn’t until I saw pictures posted on Instagram of exhibits at the Renwick Gallery (which is a branch of the Smithsonian American Art Museum) that I became aware of its existence.

I’ve likely passed it several times while walking near the White House, but never paid attention to it (talk about invisible blinders). It had undergone a two-year renovation and reopened last year with brand new exhibits – one of the more popular ones called Wonder. The Renwick Gallery tends to showcase contemporary craft and decorative art that can be made out of, well, anything (one of the exhibits used cards, another marbles, a third used tires, and a fourth was made out of dead bugs).

If you’re a local, I highly recommend walking through at least once and have a look for yourself at the exhibits (which, by the way, are only up for a certain amount of time – I think a total of six months starting this past November). And if you are visiting from out of town soon, check it out. It’s right next to the White House and it’s free. You really can’t miss it.

Oh and they really encourage photography in there. That’s my kind of museum.

Renwick

shimmering
saplings

through the looking hole
colors of the spectrum

spectrum
alien mounds

made up of cards
Wonder exhibit
let the light shine in
leather bound

made up of tires
insect wall

real life dead bugs
up close

conservation
down the trunk

made out of cedar
dedicated to art

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. San #

    Oh wow, beautiful photos, Marie! You captured the exhibit well! 🙂 I agree, sometimes we have to pay more attention to local events and exhibits that we tend to overlook in our daily grind.

    February 8, 2016
    • Marie #

      Thank you! My photos don’t do any of the exhibits justice. It’s so great to see it in person. I need to make more of an effort to go see things around here that I normally don’t, but I get pretty lazy. 😉

      February 8, 2016
  2. Top notch photos.

    February 9, 2016
    • Marie #

      Thank you! You are too kind. 🙂

      February 9, 2016
  3. Love all the quirky art in there! Will put it on my list. DC is pretty awesome.

    February 11, 2016
    • Marie #

      I think you’d really like it!

      February 12, 2016
  4. Locals rarely take advantage of what is around them. It’s not just DCites

    February 14, 2016
    • Marie #

      Very true. When I lived in Boston, I did the same thing – didn’t visit everything I would have wanted to see.

      February 16, 2016
  5. Wow! That looks awesome.

    February 19, 2016
    • Marie #

      I think you’d love it. 🙂

      February 22, 2016

Leave a Reply

