Skip to content

My electronic boo

federal triangle

iPhone, vsco cam edits, Washington, DC

Something completely unexpected happened this past weekend. Well maybe not completely unexpected, but I was hoping it would be delayed for another couple of months. Possibly a year.

I guess I was hoping for too much.

On Saturday morning I went to restart my computer because it had been on for quite a long time, and once it rebooted, it wouldn’t go past the reboot. All I could see was gray screen with the Apple icon and gray wheel twirling round and round and round and round and you get the point.

Let me back up. I have an iMac (desktop Mac computer, not a laptop) that I bought back in May 2008, so yes, it is quite an old computer. But I have taken really good care of it. As Matt says, it is my baby. Most of the work I do on it is pay bills, write emails, along with other online stuff, and do a bunch of photo editing using Lightroom 4.

I do have an external hard drive and I use Time Machine to back up all my documents, programs, and photos. I’m no dummy. But when your baby breaks down, you kind of freak out.

So I made an appointment with the Genius Bar people at the Apple store near us and took the love-of-my-electronic-life to them on Sunday. I think those people are wizards there because the guy was able to diagnose the issue and fix it.

It turned out to be a software issue and not a hardware issue (always good news). However, he did have to erase my hard drive completely (but remember I had already backed things up in two places!) and then installed a more updated operating system (Yosemite). Bonus to all this was that I didn’t have to pay a penny for anything (thank goodness I have enough RAM on my computer).

I had not been shutting my computer down as often as I should have, or restarting it. So he did caution me to shut it down every night. I guess it does need to rest too.

In any case, I put everything back on my computer and it was working again when we got back from the Apple store. Thank goodness because I have a ton of photos I still need to edit (and I thankfully didn’t lose any of those)!

I should note this isn’t a promotional post for Apple nor did they ask me to write this. And while they can be yet another big corporation that wants to mainly make money and be number 1, I have yet to complain about them when it comes to their computer products and customer service.

Once my computer baby dies off for good, that’s when I’ll go back to the Apple store and find me a knew Mac.

In the meantime, I’m so not ready to give this one up!

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. San #

    Oh, phew, I am so glad that the Genius bar was able to diagnose and fix your baby. I know how nerve-racking it can be when the computer has issues. At least you were good about backing up.

    I’ve been using a 2009 (?) Macbook (at work) and I just recently had them operate the OS to Yosemite (loving it. How about you?) and for an almost 7 year old machine, it’s still working pretty good. My last DELL (personal laptop) didn’t last that long.

    February 22, 2016
    • Marie #

      I love Yosemite so far! So maybe it was a good thing my computer stopped working properly since I got the OS upgrade? Let’s go with that. 😉

      UGH Dells SUCK. They last about two years and start to crap out. Most offices use Dells, and I think they do so because they get some big corporate discount. Of course Dell won’t make them durable so companies have to constantly go back and get new ones. Blargh.

      February 22, 2016
  2. San #

    *upgrade

    February 22, 2016
  3. Glad they were able to fix it. I know our iMac is dead without question. Thankfully all files have been removed. I’d like to look into trading it in at the Apple Store and maybe get credit toward new iPhones. And it’s been quite a while since we booted up Katie’s MacBook. But we also don’t keep any files on it. I’d hate if it died, though. We don’t have a computer beyond that at home.

    February 23, 2016
    • Marie #

      You’ll have to let me know if they will do that for you (i.e., give credit towards purchase of another item)! I was thinking that would be my next step once this one goes kaput, but wasn’t sure if the Apple store does that.

      February 23, 2016
  4. So glad they were able to fix it and you had backed up everything. This reminds me to backup my photos every time I download new ones from my camera or phone, and also to backup my LR catalog with all the edits and organization.

    February 25, 2016
    • Marie #

      Me too! And yes, definitely back up your photos! That’s the main thing I’m usually worried about.

      February 26, 2016

Leave a Reply

