Skip to content

Randoms

yellow

iPhone, vsco edits, Washington DC spring flowers

I’ve been getting A LOT of spam in my Gmail spam folder lately. This never used to be the case, but there’s been an uptick since sometime last year. I can’t recall exactly when and I’m not sure why it’s happening. Although it’s not a big deal, for some reason it is annoying me. Plus some emails I’ve received from friends wind up right in my Trash folder without even heading into my Inbox. This has become highly obnoxious since I’ve been late in replying back to friends. Not a good thing. What the hell Gmail?

*****

Speaking of spam, boy do I vehemently dislike spam Instagram accounts. I’ve blocked and reported countless number of accounts. Do people have nothing better to do with their lives?

*****

Explain this to me: why is it when someone on Instagram (or likely most social media) posts something about their baby/child/pregnancy and/or pet, they get a ton of comments/likes, but not necessarily when the same person posts about anything else. I’ve tried this out on Instagram (since it’s the main social media app I use and do like a lot) to see what would happen. I’ll get a TON of responses back on photos I’ve taken of children (I mean, they are pretty darn adorable, especially the yoga ones), but I won’t get the same response on other photos (say for example adult yoga portraits). This continues to intrigue me.

*****

Anyone else notice the insane amount of illnesses swirling around this winter/spring season? Lots of colds, stomach bugs, and the flu. Matt has gotten sick three times so far, me twice, and my coworkers countless number of times. Every time I ride metro (which is almost everyday) and someone next to me coughs or sneezes, I want to run for the hills. Except their are no hills and I can’t run anywhere. I hope this goes away soon. I really don’t want to get sick again.

*****

Did you happen to see The Boston Globe’s fake front page that it ran last week, showing news stories of what it would be like if we get a President Trump come November? If not, have a look. It’s interesting/disturbing/will make you puke and almost poke your eyes out.

*****

I’m sure you’ve heard what’s been happening in Mississippi and North Carolina at this point in regards to the passing of anti-LGBT laws. In case you haven’t, here’s a quick read. While I am really glad that big businesses are taking a stand against these – for lack of a better word – dumb, idiotic, downright bigoted laws, I keep wondering to myself WHY is it that they don’t do the same for anti-reproductive health laws that have been passed? I just don’t think many people even care about women’s rights, to be honest. Why are we not out in full force, protesting in an organized manner throughout the US? A TON of these laws that have been passed not only damage women’s reproductive health, but are putting women in jail. It’s frightening.

*****

I’ll end on a better note. If you haven’t tried it yet, you should try some Stumptown Coffee (if you like coffee). Boy is it just downright heavenly and delicious. I recently purchased their new blend called Golden Hour and can’t wait to get it so I can try it. Honestly, not sure what I would do without my daily cup of morning coffee. (Not getting paid to say this or link to them, etc. so on and so forth.)

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. Gmail does a lot of behind the scenes tinkering I think. They’re stepping up their security because of higher levels of spam. Along with enabling encryption and letting users know when incoming messages aren’t encrypted. I’ve been getting actual emails in my spam box – all we can do is tell Gmail NO, stop, you’re wrong. Sadly.

    Ugh, don’t get me started on spam Instagram accounts. I do the same – report, report, report. One other thing I’ve started noticing on instagram is a similar tactic to what a few people on Twitter do. Follow/unfollow and repeat ad nauseum. In the hopes of getting your attention so you’ll follow them. Then there’s like/unlike ad nauseum for a particular image, so they’ll get your attention. Has happened to me a few times and ended up blocking some accounts because of their stupid activity. Most of the accounts that do this are for people trying to sell their wares, mostly Lightroom filters or other photo app things.

    April 12, 2016
    • Marie #

      UGH that is annoying. I check both my Spam and Trash repeatedly now to make sure nothing important went in there (but it does).

      I didn’t know they also did that on Instagram! That is really, really annoying. I’ll have to watch closely. I really don’t like that kind of behavior – following people/tagging them/etc. just to get followers. This is not a competition people! I kind of really dislike the marketing – espcially spam marketing on there too. Sheesh.

      April 12, 2016
  2. Stinks when real mail goes into Spam, which I check NEVER. And then at work, Outlook has this stupid folder called “Clutter” which is like Spam that isn’t Spam but you don’t want to read anyways. WHY?! Making me do another click in the mornings…grrr…

    As for why kids get more likes on IG than other pictures, I’d rather just not see kids’ photos on IG. At least not their faces. I know I’m kinda a hypocrite because I once shared their photos online (with faces) all the time and then I did a 180. Now, I only post obscure photos of them (backs, profiles, from far away).

    April 12, 2016
    • Marie #

      Don’t get me started on Outlook. Such an awful mail program. There’s always some issue with it. I can’t even use the actual program itself on my work computer because it causes it to freeze and crash, so I just use the web version.

      I’m with you on the kids’ photos. I know parents/family want to share (I always ask clients before I share photos of their children and some say no), but it is pretty interesting the attention they get. And I like what you’re doing with photos of your kids now actually! I saw another individual do the same on Instagram and really love it.

      April 14, 2016
  3. San #

    I haven’t quite figured out why so much mail ends up in spam (or why there is so much spam in gmail to begin with).

    Mmh, very interesting that posts on Instagram about baby/child/pregancy or pet gets more likes/comments than other posts… I don’t think I am guilty of that bias, but if you tried it out, it must be true… which makes me sad, because that means that I’ll never get as many comments as other people, because I have neither (kids or pets). LOL

    Uhm, if there is anyone out there who hasn’t tried (and loves) Stumptown… I CAN’T HELP THEM 🙂 (but I need to order some more and try this new blend!)

    April 13, 2016
    • Marie #

      Oh don’t even worry about the amount of likes/comments! (Actually I’m betting you don’t.) I just find it really interesting (that is people’s behavior, likes, and what not).

      I got the new blend! I’m sooooo excited to try it! 🙂 Yay Stumptown!

      April 14, 2016
  4. Still don’t have a Stumptown here. Sads.

    Commenters are fickle people.

    April 13, 2016
    • Marie #

      That is very, very sads. If you do ever really want to try them though, you can get some off of their website (https://www.stumptowncoffee.com/. They roast them fresh and then send them to you. Super yummy. But yeah they can be pricey coffee beans.

      Commentators are really fickle people. Too true.

      April 14, 2016
  5. dawn #

    OMG I hadn’t seen that fake Boston Globe paper. I was about to gouge my eyes out but then I read the blurb on Trump National Park finally getting rid of it’s loser name, Yellowstone. That made me laugh out loud!

    April 17, 2016
    • Marie #

      Haha that one was particularly hilarious! 🙂

      April 18, 2016

Leave a Reply

