Skip to content

This and That

green florals on a green bottle

iPhone, vsco cam edits, florals in a green bottle

I’ve been getting a lot of questions lately (and several months before now) about the “bun in the oven” that is currently cooking. I figured why not answer all the questions that I’ve been asked here. So here it goes.

What are you talking about? I still don’t know what you are referring to.
We are having a baby. As of this blog post I’m about 5 1/2 months along or roughly 23 weeks and some days.

Say WHAAAAAT?! Do you know what you’re having?
Yes! We are having a baby boy and we found out during my 12-week checkup when the first genetic test results came in.

Wait, what? They can figure it out that early?
Oh yeah. Because I am of “advanced maternal age” (i.e., 35 and older), I was strongly encouraged to do genetics testing early on. Besides, Matt and I wanted to in case there were chromosomal abnormalties with the fetus. Since there have been advances in science and medicine, I did a newer test called the Non-Invasive Prenatal Test or (NIPT), which requires just a finger prick and a bit of my blood. Included in this test is the choice of finding out the sex of the fetus. Reason is DNA from the fetus is swimming around in the mother’s blood so when they run the blood test, they can also check the sex of the fetus. Science is pretty cool you guys.

But wait, I thought you didn’t want to have kids?
We were pretty much on the fence for a long time. Should we have one? Is it the right time? They are SO expensive! Our lives will completely change. Are we ready for that sort of change? Are we even prepared to have one? Would we be good parents or not so great ones? Should we just keep things the way they are? Life is hard enough as it is, why complicate it with a child? And so on and so forth.

Personally, I like kids. Well, some kids, not all. I had thought I’d want just one child because I grew up as an only child and loved it. But then adulthood happens and you start second guessing everything, never being sure of a lot of things. So I put it off. I went back and forth in my own mind between having one and not having one from time to time. When asked, we always told people we were never having one, mainly so that they would leave us alone and stop asking. That question really bothered and annoyed us (me the most). It’s really no one’s business. This strategy eventually worked and the question came up less and less.

Then my dad’s stroke happened last summer while I was visiting my parents in Lebanon. You know how you have those life-jolting moments when you feel like someone out of nowhere slaps you on the face and knocks the air out of you? That’s what it was like. Life is too damn short and so fragile.

So I stopped with the thinking (I think, a lot) and told Matt when I got back to the US that I wanted us to try to have a kid. If it works, great. If not, at least we tried and that lingering question of “what if” wouldn’t be there anymore.

And so here we are halfway through. But still many, many more weeks to go and numerous checkups and tests.

Is this going to become a mommy-blog?
God NO. It will remain mostly about coffee, pictures, politics, with some of life sprinkled in between.

Will you be posting pictures of your kid online?
Sorry but no. The only time he’ll be seen (or really not seen) is through intermittent (and rare) growing belly pictures of me (or maybe stuff I get for him). Once he’s born, and I take copious amount of obnoxious photos of him (because really who are we kidding? you know I’m going to), then I’ll have baby annoucements printed and sent to family and friends via snail mail. They will also likely get text messages with photos of him, and I’ll email friends and family abroad pictures of him, but that’s about it. I’ll also be requesting that my parents and in-laws refrain from posting any photos of him on Facebook (why yes, both sets of grandparents are on Facebook, but Matt and I are not).

In case you are wondering, my Instagram will still be loaded with photos of coffee, people portraits, yoga, etc. and so forth.

Last one, did you want a boy or a girl?
At first I wanted a girl and Matt wanted a boy because it’s just what we know (since you know I’m female and he’s male). But then I heard the heartbeat for the first time and I didn’t even care anymore. I just wanted the fetus to be healthy and well. That’s all that mattered and honestly, that’s all that still matters. I’m head over heels in love with this little boy already. While yes he’s still doing a lot of growing and developing, he is my everyday, anywhere I go companion and damn do I love him. We both can’t wait to meet him (likely sometime in August).

I think that’s about it. Anything else you wanted to ask me?

12 Comments Post a comment
  1. You answered all of MY questions :). Congrats again and can’t wait to me him! Be sure to send me a photo via secure email :).

    April 15, 2016
    • Marie #

      Thanks so much Lisa! And I definitely will! 🙂

      April 15, 2016
  2. We didn’t care what we had either. At our ages, we were similarly happy just to be having one. But we declined the genetics test.

    Katie says that hearing that heartbeat was one of her favorite memories, too.

    Congrats again!

    April 15, 2016
    • Marie #

      I looooooved hearing the heartbeat and seeing him! It’s so cool! And thank you!

      April 18, 2016
  3. amynghe #

    Haha I love the first question. You will take SO many photos of your baby boy I am sure! My phone only has baby photos on it now. I have to remind myself to take some non-baby pics every now and then 🙂

    April 16, 2016
    • Marie #

      Ha! But she’s so adorable and cute and how can you not take a million photos of her?? 🙂

      April 18, 2016
  4. Meghan #

    Congrats my lovely Marie! Happy for you and Matt! It’s a wild ride but so worth it 🙂 xoxo

    April 17, 2016
    • Marie #

      Thank you so much!!

      April 18, 2016
  5. dawn #

    So so so excited for you guys! I hope I get on the list to receive emailed photos. I can’t wait! xoxo

    April 17, 2016
    • Marie #

      Oh heck yeah you will be! And thank you!

      April 18, 2016
  6. San #

    I am so thrilled for you (and you’re so funny, but I guess you have now answered all the nosy questions anyone could ever ask!). Make sure you put me on the list of people that you will email a baby picture, prettyplease!!!

    April 18, 2016
    • Marie #

      Thank you and you are already on my list! 🙂

      April 19, 2016

Leave a Reply

