Skip to content

Take your time

old school coffee

iPhone, vsco cam edits, home

Making coffee can be a rushed experience – if you want it to be. I’ve learned that rushing it means losing quality of taste. And if you love coffee as much as I do, it gets more difficult to drink something that is lacking in taste.

Buying fresh coffee beans (after trying various types and finding the one that you like), grinding a specific amount for that one cup you want to make, and using just the right equipment to brew the one fresh cup takes a little bit of time. But you find that it’s worth it when you take that first sip and hope you made it just right.

It also takes practice and patience.

I’ve always been a very impatient person. It has taken me 36 years to try and step back, see what my choices are, and attempt to make the right decisions for myself. I can safely say I’m still practicing and find that I am impatient at times, which can somehow lead to worry, anxiety, and stress.

Not a healthy combination.

I’ve found some people are able to step back, take everything all in, and take their time with whatever it is they do in their lives. Even if something is going to take longer to get done. Such people seem to be more relaxed, somewhat, and not as stressed.

I wish I could do more of that by choice. In a way, I’ve been forced to for the last couple of months. I’ve had to slow down as my body has changed and accept that I can’t do everything I used to. My mind has also become muddled, slower, and highly forgetful (otherwise known as “pregnancy brain”).

It’s been difficult to accept because I’m not one for slowing down. I like to get things done (just ask Matt). I may procrastinate on a couple of things (because let’s face it, sometimes a person gets downright tired), but I eventually check my To Dos off my list.

Yet, my To Dos keep growing and the checking off continues to slow down. It’s not something I’m comfortable with.

I’m trying my best to accept that whatever comes my way in life, it’s all a process. Somethings take longer than others and need more care, patience, and time. I’ve started doing yoga at home in the evenings to try and relax and tell myself that it’s OK that not everything is done. Taking a step back – or many – is needed. I think we rush through life enough as it is. And I think we need to re-learn how to slow down, accept things as they are, make changes when and if we can, and take pride in the things we do accomplish no matter how small or big.

Life, after all, is about the process and lots of practice. Right?

 

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. Rest assured that when baby arrives, you will slooooow down and it will be painful at times and sometimes (most times) you’ll be late and yet baby will slow you down and then one day, you’ll realize, hey, this isn’t so bad. I SHOULD stop to smell the roses, and laundry CAN be done tomorrow. (But then you’re kids grow up and you can return to your “to-do” mentality — that’s me right now)

    April 26, 2016
    • Marie #

      I can only imagine and can sort of see it coming that I’ll be slowing down even more.

      I wonder if I can later teach him how to do the laundry so he’ll do it for me… 😉

      April 26, 2016
  2. I have that to-do mentality too. Sometimes I feel like if I’m not doing something useful for any spare moment, I’m wasting time. It feels good to tick things off the list. But then stuff keeps getting added to it.

    Is there a support group we can join?

    April 29, 2016
    • Marie #

      I wish! And it has to offer coffee. 😉

      April 29, 2016
  3. San #

    “I think we need to re-learn how to slow down”.

    THIS.

    It’s tough but whenever I get a glimpse of it (e.g. when I visit home and am NOT rushing from one gathering to another), I know that this is the way to live.

    May 2, 2016
    • Marie #

      It’s hard to do when we’re always on the go. I read somewhere that we need to re-learn how to be bored again, stare out into the horizon and just be.

      May 2, 2016
  4. Katie went through a lot of the same. The best part, for her, was that she had an excuse to say no at work. She’s always the workhorse and when out hers have needed help or shift coverage, she has said yes. Not while pregnant. I wouldn’t let her. I wanted her to be as stress free as possible.

    May 7, 2016
    • Marie #

      That’s really good. It’s not healthy to push ourselves TOO much (which I’m very guilty of doing). I think our bodies (pregnant women) just make you stop though, and that’s a good thing.

      May 10, 2016

Leave a Reply

