Skip to content

Just another year

37. My current age status. Mid to late 30s. Of advanced maternal age. Label it as you wish, but I still feel like I’m a 5 year old. More so on the inside than the continuously exhausted outside.

Each year brings a set of new experiences and life events – both big and small, awesome and not so awesome.

Relationships adjust and change more so in slow motion than sudden earthquake-like shifts.

Patience is both shortened and lengthened. Shortened with those I don’t know well or care to devote any time to, and lengthened with those I care most about (well, sometimes).

Finding time is more difficult. Time for anything – organizing things around the house, photography, spending time with the people I am closest to, and even myself. Time grows ever more fleeting the older I get.

Learning and accepting that my job – any job – is simply just that. It no longer defines me, but is merely a part of my everyday life.

Seeing that my aspirations in life have dramatically changed from my early 20s. Rather than wanting a specific career path, I want to experience life – whatever that may be. The need to pack up and move only grows stronger each year, a feeling that I somewhat fear will never leave me.

The one constant that has remained, though, is my love of my morning cup of coffee. A simple warm, morning drink that helps lighten up my day. At least some things in life don’t change.

“People who see life as anything more than pure entertainment are missing the point.” – George Carlin

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. Thumbs up all over this beautiful bit of writing, Marie.

    It’s funny how so early one we’re almost indoctrinated that we have to choose a career that’ll span our entire life. That that will take us through everything. And very few other things are just as important (well happened for me!) and yet when we’re living our lives, so much changes that our younger selves simply couldn’t imagine.

    And I’m with you on not finding time and wanting to experience life. As someone who never wanted to leave home for another country, I’m now seeing how amazing it is to just experience other places.

    June 1, 2016
    • Marie #

      Thank you and I know what you mean!

      June 1, 2016
  2. Time sure seems to fly faster when we’re older but hey, we’re wiser. May this be a blessed year!

    June 1, 2016
    • Marie #

      Thank you Lisa!

      June 2, 2016
  3. San #

    I relate to EVERY SINGLE THING that you touched upon… esp. the coffee. Obvs.

    June 2, 2016
    • Marie #

      I figured you would! 🙂

      June 3, 2016
  4. I love how all that fed its way into coffee. Heh heh. But time is an elusive bitch, isn’t it?

    June 13, 2016
    • Marie #

      Of course it all leads to coffee! All roads lead to coffee…. 😉

      And yes, yes it is.

      June 14, 2016

Leave a Reply

