Skip to content

I must be missing a gene

486E2B60-65FF-460B-9174-E7C9FC3E9B35

32 weeks and 6 days

My head has been getting more and more clouded with each passing day. I have to set reminders on my phone for even the simplest things, even to pay bills or remember to email someone back. Yes, pregnancy brain is a real thing, but I think it’s more because I haven’t been able to sleep for a long stretch of time (longest is about 3 hours at a time) since …… sometime in the 2nd trimester. Don’t ask when exactly because I don’t remember.

I also think I’m missing a crucial mom gene known as “nesting.” I have zero inclinations to nest. This kid’s room is still not even put together, even though most of his stuff has been purchased. I just can’t be bothered, and what’s worse? I just don’t care. We’ve cleared out half the room, but the other half that includes my work desk, computer, piles and piles of papers, stuff to be shredded, and all my camera equipment remains in there. I figure it’ll get done. By whom? Not a clue.

Don’t worry, he has a place to sleep in the travel crib/play and pack/bassinet/whatever the hell it’s called thing I got him. Calm down. I’m not that horrible.

What’s more? I constantly want more coffee and donuts. I’m not really eating donuts (just once in a while), but I want them everyday around 1pm. It’s not a pregnancy craving. I have always craved this because 1. COFFEE and 2. DONUTS. I don’t think any other explanation is really required.

I haven’t even gotten my kid a single toy because let’s face it, he’s going to want to play with pots and pans and cardboard boxes for a while. Then maybe when he’s a little more aware of actual toys, he’ll start to want them. Several friends have, however, already gifted him books from our registry, which is a WIN! In my head books > toys. Sorry kid. Your getting your own little library of books.

At the same time, I’m amazed everyday by the science and biology behind the whole human creation thing. I could talk about it all day, but people get tired of me and think “oh just another pregnant women wanting to talk about her pregnancy.” Except, I don’t care for all the lame, mushy, emotional, and quite frankly useless information that is out there. I thoroughly enjoy the actual science behind it. It’s quite fascinating.

But I must admit, I do love the little guy with all my being. I haven’t even met him yet – officially – and I love every inch of this wiggly, trying-to-bust-out-of-my-belly-button, bladder-jumping, alien-moving tiny human. It’s like we already have a bond that was made by the human body’s internal universe.

So forgive me if I do talk about him and this pregnancy from time to time. (Or just don’t read.) I’m still crossing my fingers that he makes it full term and all goes well with his stage left exit, and that he and I will both be a-ok.

11 Comments Post a comment
  1. Meghan #

    I love reading this! And seeing adorable you as a preggo lady. The bond is pretty awesome, for sure. Neither of my babies had their own rooms because small apartment living- good thing because I also lacked any nesting instinct. Malik is currently sleeping in a rock n play (Google it, and then buy or borrow one) at 6 months and 21.5 pounds…perhaps a crib is in order?! Haha!

    June 21, 2016
    • Marie #

      So many people have told me about the rock n play! I was even in Target one day walking through the baby aisles and a dad with his two boys told me to get one ASAP!

      June 22, 2016
  2. Why would I not read? Katie desperately misses being pregnant. She loved it. But we definitely had the nesting thing going on. Once we hit about 5-6 months, his room was mostly done. I think I wanted it painted before Katie couldn’t take the smell of paint.

    June 22, 2016
    • Marie #

      I figure some people get bored with me talking about pregnancy related stuff, but actually didn’t ever think you would (and I’m right)! 🙂 Thank goodness we don’t need to do any painting. The only reason is that I painted that room when we first moved in and it really doesn’t need to be repainted at all (it’s currently white). I’ll just be hanging a few things up and it’s the furniture that needs to be put together once it has been cleared up. I so wish there was a magic wand I could wave that would take care of all of this!

      June 22, 2016
  3. San #

    Do you know that I think you’ll be a terrific mother? 🙂

    I love how nonchalant and laid back you are and your “I’ll deal with it when it happens”-attitude.
    I also love that you’re so fascinated by the science behind pregnancy (totally agree!).

    June 22, 2016
    • Marie #

      Awww thank you lady! I hope I will be, but who knows!

      I think with a lot of stuff in my life I’ve gotten to the point where if it’s not an emergency, I’ll get to it. It’ll just be later rather than sooner and I’m ok with that. 😉

      And yes it is scientifically fascinating! The human body is very interesting.

      June 22, 2016
  4. Might I suggest holding a party at your house? That seems to be the only thing that kicked me into gear re: getting baby’s room ready 😉

    June 23, 2016
    • Marie #

      Ha! But I have zero energy to organize and have one! 🙂

      June 23, 2016
  5. As I’m late commenting, you’re even closer now! So exciting!

    June 25, 2016
    • Marie #

      Getting super close!

      June 27, 2016
  6. dawn #

    You look amazing! Eat the donuts, they are good for pregnant ladies. Scientific fact. And don’t worry about setting up all his stuffs, he won’t know! All he’s going to need or want is his mama! 🙂
    Xoxo

    July 8, 2016

Leave a Reply

