Skip to content

Film is hard yo

I think I mentioned a while ago that I was going to take a picture a week using one of my film cameras and later share some of those photos. Well I did start taking a photo a week. Then I took a little more than just one on a few occasions, and then stopped once the film was finished. I do have another roll of film I need to put into the camera and start taking pictures with it again, but I can get lazy sometimes. Or really, pretty busy.

In any case, the first set has been developed, and while I didn’t like everything, there are a number of them I thought came out well. So I figured why not share some here. Just to note, like many from my generation, I grew up with film and did take numerous film photos. It’s amazing how much we forget though, and going back to film is almost like re-learning how to ride a bike when the last time you rode it was well over a decade ago. But with practice and time, I hope to get better at it.

Film used: Kodak color film 400
Camera: Canon AE-1
Lens: 50mm

sunshine winter florals-inside
sunset blanket
snowy pine needles
space shuttle challenger
warmed brie
sunshine winter florals-outside
space shuttle challenger
air and space museum

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. Great shots! They’re sharp! I’d be afraid mine would be blurry because of the lack of light indoors. Good job to ya! I love the blanket one and the first shot of the space shuttle. Love the light. Moody.

    April 16, 2015
    • Marie #

      Thank you Lisa!!

      April 16, 2015
  2. San #

    Those are some gorgeous shots, Marie… but yeah, isn’t it nerve-racking not knowing how your photo is going to turn out? 🙂

    April 16, 2015
    • Marie #

      VERY!! I can’t stress that enough!

      April 16, 2015
  3. I agree. I tried shooting on my old AE-1 a few years ago and had a focusing problem. I think there might be something wrong with the camera tho because I shoot manual all the time, so it wasn’t a metering issue. Either that or my eyes are REALLY going downhill. 😛

    April 16, 2015
    • Marie #

      I think there’s something wrong with the camera, as you said, and not your eyes for sure!!

      April 17, 2015
  4. Wow! Very nice.

    I miss film sometimes. Only sometimes.

    April 16, 2015
    • Marie #

      Thank you!

      April 17, 2015

Leave a comment